District Conventions

2017 District Convention

Mount Vernon was a gracious host. Jim and Carol shared some insights from a Freemont club about efforts to engage a broader audience. We had further discussion in the club about alternatives for meeting – from extra meetings, to alternate sites. It was determined to consider the options for a time and make trial efforts in those regards and see the results. Joe is quite hopeful about gaining more new members.

After achieving the 50 year pin, last year, our Joe won a District Life Time Achievement Award this year.

2014 District Convention
hosted by Exchange Club of Dayton
May 30-31, Wyndham Hill, Miamisburg

We were pleased to host this convention, providing generous accommodations, host packs representing the good things in the region, including Mikesells chips, Butterfly attracting seeds, gliders from the Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park and more.  In addition we provided a good array of speakers as noted in the article from the district newletter, The Link:

The convention officially got underway on Saturday morning with the Child Abuse
Prevention Breakfast. After an Invocation by Floyd Culver, Wauseon, and the Pledge,
led by Jackie Lewis, West Toledo, District President Brook Eggart welcomed the group
and presented pins to all of the First Timers. The Exchange Club of Toledo received
recognition for the Best CAP Project Award for their Champions for Children Award
Project. Lorie Daugherty of the Mansfield CAP Center gave an update on the center and
all of their projects. The center is doing well, but there are still families on a waiting list
for their services.
A Panel Discussion was held on the lack of Civics training in our schools and the fact
that much of our country’s history is no longer being taught in our schools. Panelists were
Debe Tehar, who serves on the State Board of Education, and Ohio First District Court of
Appeals Judge Patrick Fischer. We were also privileged to have Anthony Talbot speak to
our group. Mr. Talbot is Co-Founder of Abolition Ohio, and spoke on the current slave
trade in Ohio, also known as Human Trafficking. He shared some startling statistics on
the matter and how Toledo ranks #1 in trafficking per capita.
Brook Eggart gave a State of the District address and shared the district is within reach
of attaining positive growth for the year. Ann Culver, Wauseon, presented the Treasurer’s
Report and noted the district is fiscally sound. Secretary John Fetters, Findlay, reported
on our clubs at growth and attaining the National Service Award. A Power Point
presentation was shown recapping the district and national leadership over the past 21
years. President Eggart then appointed Bob Garfield, West Chester, to review the
minutes of last year’s convention and report back to the convention.
Clubs were recognized for earning the National Service Award to date. They included
Fremont, Greater Maumee Bay, Sandusky, Wauseon, West Chester, West Toledo,
Findlay, Springfield and Clyde. It was also noted that the deadline for the award is June
The Youth Awards Luncheon was held as we honored this year’s recipients. After an
Invocation by Larry Sewell, Springfield, and the Pledge by Cindy Cullen, Clyde, the
2013-2014 Youth of the Year Award, and $1000 scholarship, was presented to David
Henniger from Lake High School. He was sponsored by The Exchange Club of Greater
Maumee Bay. The Accepting the Challenge of Excellence Award and scholarship was
given to Kelsy Iler of Fremont St. Joseph Central Catholic High School, and was sponsored
by The Exchange Club of Fremont.
After lunch, the Roll was called and the Elections of Officers took place. The officersCounty; Cindy Cullen, Clyde; Marie Perkins, Fremont; and serving as Interim Directors: Floyd Culver, Wauseon; Mary Shaffer, Fremont; Angie Herzog, Lima.
Larry Sewell presented a Memorial Service for members lost since our last convention.
Honored were Bonnie Franks, Findlay, and Larry Skelly, Lima. After the service, complete
with bagpipes, there were several educational sessions held. Tom Wild and Vince
Lewis spoke on the Anti Bullying Million T Shirt March. They stressed the importance of
promoting awareness and engagement in the efforts to curb bullying. Russ Finney, Region
8 Vice President, led a session entitled “The Top Two Questions of the Day” where
attendees were asked to submit the most burning questions they had to help better their
clubs. Much of the discussion that followed was on ideas to grow our clubs, and diversify
by getting younger members. Our national rep, Bill Trimble, RVP Region 11, made a
presentation entitled “Leadership In Action.” Members split into small groups and shared
ideas. John Fetters led in some fun training with “Who Wants to be an Exchange Millionaire” with questions on our great organization.
The day concluded in a big way, with the Awards and Installation Banquet. Past DP
Jim Suddath, Dayton, gave an Invocation and Dayton’s Bill Wild led us in the pledge.
Essence Five performed prior to dinner, led by Carol Suddath, Dayton. Plenty of awards
were given out after dinner. Lima’s Cheryl Verhoff won the Exchangite of the Year. The
District Bulletin of the Year was won by Springfield, Larry Sewell, Editor. In the Club
Membership Growth Awards, Springfield won for the clubs under 30 members (+5) and
Painesville in the over 30 member class (+4). Top Recruiter Awards were recognized
with certificates, but also received money for their efforts. Larry Sewell, Springfield, and
Ted Lindsley, Toledo and Maumee, each recruited 5 new members. Joe Wade, Dayton,
and Jim Addis, Greater Maumee Bay, were rewarded for bringing in 3 new members
District President Club Award patches were presented to Springfield (Gold) and West
Chester (Bronze). The 2013-2014 District Rookie of the Year was awarded to Lima’s
Tiffany Kayser. She was unable to attend, but the award will be presented at one of her
local club meetings.
The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Floyd Culver, Wauseon, for his 40
plus years in Exchange and his willingness to always help the district. Floyd served as
national president in 2008-2009. The Best Community Service Award was given to Bowling Green for their “Positive Start” program. Dr. Roger Grant accepted the award for the club.
Resolutions were passed for the following: Exchange Club of Dayton for hosting the
convention, Region 11 VP Bill Trimble for serving as our national representative and to outgoing District President Brook Eggart for her two years serving as president. RVP Trimble installed the new officers and directors for the 2014-2015 Exchange year.

2009 District Convention
May 15-17, 2009 Kalahari Resort

The 2009 Ohio/West Virginia District Convention was held from May 15-17, 2009 at the Kalahari Resort in Sandusky, Ohio.

At the Convention, new District Officers were elected. Mary Shaffer was elected District President for 2009-10 and Angie Herzog was elected District President Elect. Club and district awards were presented with the Dayton Club being recognized for winning the National Service Award and being sponsors of the District A.C.E. Award winner, Miss Nicole Wells. Mr. Jim Bayes was honored as District Exchangite of the Year.

Our club always trys to be a part of the convention. A number of our members have served in past years as District Presidents and continue to serve the district as “topnotchers.”

This year, three of our members attended the convention as voting delegates: Joe Wade, Jim Suddath, and Carol Suddath.